top of page

BGLS Experience: My First Year at NC State

My first year at NC State was both an exciting and eye-opening experience. I am from a really small town and the undergraduate student population is greater than the population in my home town. On top of that, I was homeschooled. During my first few weeks, I felt like I had made a mistake in joining the Wolfpack. The classes were tougher than high school courses, everything was extremely fast paced, and I was not used having to do so many "adult" things by myself.

I started out in the First Year College (Now called Exploratory Studies), so I took quite a few GEP courses my first year. I plan on transitioning into the College of Sciences though, so I also had tougher courses like calculus, chemistry, and biology. I enjoyed my smaller classes more than the huge lectures because I could interact with my classmates and professors in a more personal manner. I came to State without a set study habit, note-taking strategy, or anything that would help me understand and retain the information that was being thrown at me. After getting back my first set of test grades, I decided to take action. I began studying with a group of friends instead of alone. This helped a lot because we could all pitch in and help each other out as needed. In the classroom, I began sitting up front more often. Honestly, I think that your instructor is really only teaching to the first two or three rows because they're usually filled with the students who are actively engaged in the class. It's easier to ask and answer questions and allow your professor to get familiar with you when you sit in the "Learning T." I also found that going to office hours is extremely beneficial. Most of my professors were always willing to help me out in any way that they could. The last, and probably the best, thing I did to adjust to the college coursework was buy a planner. I wrote down every assignment, test, and quiz as soon as I knew about it. This helped me plan how I was going to study and keep me from procrastinating.

NC State is a diverse campus. As a woman of color, I personally did not have a hard time fitting in because my circle of close friends back home were of various races, ethnicities, and backgrounds. Therefore, attending a PWI as an African-American woman was not one of my concerns when I arrived. However, I was shocked and outraged by some of the occurrences that happened on campus during my freshman year. It was a wake up call and a reminder that not everyone is as welcoming and culturally aware as the people I grew up with. This particular time during the year empowered me. I began to realize that I needed to embrace my culture and stand up for those who had wrong done against them because of their race. I also learned that I have to respect and appreciate my own race in order for someone else to do so.

All in all, I survived my first year. I made great friends who stuck by me through thick and thin. I got involved in organizations that peaked my interests and I spent a lot of time exploring new things. As a Pack Promise Scholar and a student in the Peer Mentor Program, I had two amazing mentors who were always willing to give advice and talk to me whenever I needed a listening ear.

(Be sure to check out De'Shanta's personal blog, to stay up-to-date with her: braidsandgreys.wordpress.com)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page